Mixed Race and Eggshells

White people seem to live in fear of saying anything non-politically correct and find themselves walking on egg shells around black folk instead of simply enjoying their company. The ‘is it ‘cos I is black?’ minority have actually made it difficult for the vast majority of folk to simply have a healthy laugh. In England I get ribbed about being tight due to the fact I’m Scottish, or is it come to think of it because I am in fact tight-fisted? Eh., moving on… Scottish people can have a laugh at the stereotypes surrounding us as can the Germans, where humour is no laughing matter, the Irish, the Welsh, tall people, small people, fat people, thin people, short-sighted people and just about everyone else. What one has to watch is not so much what is said, but how it is said. No one in their right mind says to a Glaswegian, “hey Jock, come over here,” unless of course they want a Glasgow kiss, but equally no Glaswegian would mind hearing a gag about, “Jock and Hamish.” If folk are secure and what you say is said with warmth and love, what harm?

Earlier this month I created an advert with my wee niece, who is admittedly not so wee anymore. I wanted to have a bit of fun with her colour in the text, but soon found my ad rejected. She thought it was funny and Marian did too, but the white magazine editor, understandably in retrospect, was clearly worried about causing offence. Eventually I concluded the editor was right so rather than pull my ad I rewrote it and played safe. While I must admit I am very happy with the end result it is notable that this logic doesn’t apply to Irn Bru who have no problem sending up their fellow Scots. We actually revel in it! The Yanks play on their cowboys, the Australians on their macho drinking and so it goes on. Wouldn’t it be great if we could lighten up a bit on colour too? It’s what’s underneath that matters, the spirit, the soul, the heart and the mind. We’ll never get it right all the time with anyone, but isn’t it time we cracked the eggshells and fear?

A bier, pronounced beer, is the original word for a coffin deck.

A bier, pronounced beer, is the original word for a coffin deck.

To end this blog, there once was a Scotsman, an Englishman, a Welshman, an Irishman, a white guy and a black guy…

About Paul Sinclair

Paul Sinclair, often referred to as The Faster Pastor, has 29 years proven ministry as a pastor, speaker, published author and writer. His wife Marian is from Ghana and has been a minister in song for as many years. When Marian sings… expect an anointing!
This entry was posted in On ministry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mixed Race and Eggshells

  1. Very good, trouble is all the worst black jokes about black people have been told me by my black friends, what do I do about that – what do I know I’m English and as the Celts know the English don’t know anything….

  2. Geoff says:

    What we need is a great big melting pot……. turn out coffee coloured people by the score. They don’.t write them like they used to!
    Happy Easter.

Leave a Reply

