Live with Ben Jackson (BBC Radio)

After three weeks high quality TV on BBC2’s Dead Good Job we faced ITV’s secret camera job on Exposure, but what I’d like to see is a secret camera expose on secret cameramen! Wouldn’t it be fun to see how the secret camera people behave when they think they are not on film?

Paul on Dead Good Job - BBC2

Paul on Dead Good Job – BBC2

Just one day before the final episode of Dead Good Job and ITV’s Exposure went out I was booked to be interviewed by Ben Jackson on BBC Radio Leicester as his In Depth guest. With all this talk about funerals I was pleasantly surprised and encouraged to find that Ben’s main interest was in how I go about helping people at their lowest ebb, manage to cope in such an intense environment and maintain a walk with the Lord. In short, he was more interested in the ministry side. I did find this wonderfully ironic as just a few years ago I had friends deeply concerned over my leaving the ministry (their words, not mine) while those out in the real world, such as Ben Jackson, easily grasp the fact that ministry is not about four walls, a parish or plastic credentials, but rather how God can use anyone who walks with him to minister something of him to others (my words, not his).

Ben Jackson and Paul Sinclair

Ben Jackson and Paul Sinclair at BBC Radio Leicester

Ben Jackson is a keen motorcyclist himself and rides a classic AJS so I was sitting with a kindred spirit who kicked off by asking about my planned trip to Ghana. When I got married eleven years ago I did so without the permission of Marian’s dad as we had been unable to track him down. Having finally found him in Wa, Ghana I was all set to ride over on my bike and eleven years late ask his permission to marry his daughter. My hope, of course, was that he would say no! Sadly Marian’s dad died just last week, so it looks like it will be until death us do part after all. Nonetheless all is not lost as we’ve already bought a 21 year old BMW R100GS that will be ideal for the trip, so at least I can go and pay my respects.

Paul and Marian's BMW-R100GS

Paul and Marian’s BMW-R100GS

I’m encouraged Ben was keen to look at the pastoral side of what I do and my walk with God as this is exactly what the ministry is. I am convinced the whole concept of the ministry being church or worse still denominational based is dreadful and holds so many people back. Jeremiah never went into the ministry in the conventional sense, he just went out and did it! People going off to study at college, better themselves and then pastor a church is great, I did it and don’t knock it, but to suggest that is going into the ministry while those who don’t are somehow not in the ministry is detrimental to society. Odd as it sounds I found Ben Jackson’s line of questioning, comments and observations so poignant I went off feeling ministered to myself! Everyone who knows God, even those who only know him a bit, do ministry instinctively, they can’t help it, so be confident enough in yourself and God to know it too!

“If only all BBC interviewers were as thorough and professional. A really good interview that!” Colin Liddell.

About Paul Sinclair

Paul Sinclair, often referred to as The Faster Pastor, has 29 years proven ministry as a pastor, speaker, published author and writer. His wife Marian is from Ghana and has been a minister in song for as many years. When Marian sings… expect an anointing!
This entry was posted in On TV and radio and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

