Cycle of radio, press and TV (BBC)

6:45am interview on my birthday!

Two years ago in January 2010 Motorcycle Funerals Limited manufactured and launched the UK’s first ever be-spoke tandem bicycle hearse, or as I prefer to call it, the bicycle made for three! We are not actually aware of one anywhere else in the world so it could be the first ever at all. After the first funeral I could hardly walk for over a day so I quickly learned the art of delegation and we carried on doing a small number of funerals around England.

Rev Gordon Neale's bike blessing

Much to my frustration I couldn’t find a cyclist in nearby Measham to take on the task so I said I’d sell it. Mentioning this and my physical limitations (being fat) in the run up to the Christian Resources Exhibition in Exeter snowballed into national press coverage, I include The Sun, The Daily Mail, The Times and The Metro, soon followed by a clip on ITV too.

Paul with the BBC's lovely Monica Winfield

I was interviewed on no less than ten BBC Radio programmes. The first being BBC Wales, the Welsh don’t hang about, where I had to follow a feature about the Royal Bank of Scotland bonuses. I reckon the Bank of Scotland and RBS should both be banned from using the name of my country. Anyway, this opportunity did enable me to show the Welsh that not all of us Scots wrecked the economy. Banks! Grrrrrrr.

Chatting to Monica at BBC Radio Leicester

My next interview was live in the studio of Radio Leicester with the lovely Monica Winfield. Before I knew it I was on BBC Stoke with Lee Thomas, BBC Wiltshire with Lee Stone, BBC Newcastle with John Hull, BBC Cumbria with Richard Corrie who ended my interview about the tandem hearse with the hymn, “Ride on, Ride on in Majesty.”

What a way to spend your birthday morning!

On BBC Devon the very friendly Michael interviewed me, so friendly I never knew his surname, same too with BBC Jersey’s lovely Sarah. BBC Lincolnshire followed with Sue Taylor and I finally ended with what became the funniest interview of them all with Roberto on BBC Three Counties Radio.

Filming for TV

This might all sound a bit pretentious, but I think it is good to acknowledge and show gratitude to presenters who choose to present the bright side in life and try to encourage. These interviewers bring out the best in their guests as well as their listeners. In closing, as us preachers say when there is still another ten minutes to go, here is The Daily MailThe Metro with the online versions of The Sun and The Times below.

The Sun – Page One

The Sun – Page One

The Sun – Page Two

The Sun – Page Two

The Sun – Page Three

The Sun – Page Three

The Times

The Times
About Paul Sinclair

Paul Sinclair, often referred to as The Faster Pastor, has 29 years proven ministry as a pastor, speaker, published author and writer. His wife Marian is from Ghana and has been a minister in song for as many years. When Marian sings… expect an anointing!
This entry was posted in On TV and radio and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cycle of radio, press and TV (BBC)

  1. Ain’t it just wonderful how something so lovely can tumble out of a clear blue sky? You’re a generator of joy, Paul, and you put people in a good place vis a vis their mortality.

Leave a Reply

